capture66

If you’re like me, you look at the label of any salad dressing out there and it’s overwhelming. High fructose corn syrup, sodium benzoate, xantham hum? No thanks! Plus, it’s so expensive and the calories are way too high for something that isn’t even filling. I’ve been using this simple and easy recipe for awhile now and I have to say it is better than any store bought salad dressing I’ve had in the past.

Use one of those extra mason jars you bought when you decided you were going to be a professional canner and get your ingredients ready.

This is a fun recipe that you can tweak to suit your taste. I like to use 2 TBS of white wine vinegar, 1/2 TSP of salt, 1/2 TSP of black pepper, one shallot that is minced, 4 TBS of olive oil and I like to squeeze in some dijon mustard for extra taste. You can substitute the olive oil for hemp oil if you want extra omega 3s. You can also try switching out the white wine vinegar with apple cider vinegar or tarragon vinegar. I’ve also taken out the salt for anchovy paste and I’ve switched out the shallots for garlic cloves since I always have those sitting around. Another tip is to remove the vinegar all together and replace it with lemon juice. Cooking should be fun and ideally healthy so keep trying different combinations until you find one that you love!

capture70

The great thing about this salad dressing is that it’s fresh when you want it and doesn’t sit around in your fridge wasting space. It also goes great on vegetables. I put it on some broccoli for dinner tonight and now I find myself excited to eat broccoli for the first time in my life!

